Tags

Yesterday (on my Answer This post) I had over 100 page views and only 1 comment? How does this happen. I have readers but I certainly don’t think I know them all, and I’d like to…so I’ve been holding off, but I feel it’s time to introduce a little controversy.

This summer I read The Secret and then I watched the movie on Netflix.

I picked it up at a garage sale, and as believer in the law of attraction, I was curious to know more. The owner of the book told me that she chose not to read it because it conflicted with her Christian beliefs. I, having my own Christian beliefs, chose to read the book and decide how I felt about it.

pin

Well, I agree with the thoughts in the book. The basis of the secret is to attract positive things into your life by thinking about positive things. Debt, is not positive, so don’t think about debt. Bills are not positive, so don’t think about bills. Money is positive, so think about money. Weight gain is not positive (in my case) so don’t think the words: fat, weight loss, etc…because the universe only hears weight, fat…and you attract weight and fat. If you think words like thin, healthy, strong, and visualize yourself as that person, you become that person.

I know what a lot of you are probably thinking: You lost me at universe.

Here’s the thing, I don’t believe that the universe gives us things. I believe that all good things come from God.  I also believe that God gave us a mind and a brain that we cannot comprehend the power and strength of. I firmly believe that a positive mind attracts the positive. I do. I’ve seen it happen in my own life and I’ve seen myself attract the very negatives that I was trying to avoid.

How many times has my mom told me that she doesn’t think she would have ever gained weight if she had never started calling herself fat if she wasn’t? I’d be rich if I had a dime for every time she’s expressed that belief that your thoughts become your reality.

And how many times have I heard something to this effect quoted by a General Authority at church:

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words

Watch your words, for they become actions.

Watch your actions, for they become habits.

Watch your habits, for they become your character.

Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

I’ve heard it many times, just in different formats. Usually it’s discouraging sin, but apply it to another way. How about when I tell myself that I am a bad visiting teacher because I didn’t do my visiting teaching, do I get better? No, I don’t improve, I continue to prove true that I’m a “bad visiting teacher.”

And think about all of the thoughts/research behind goal setting. There’s so much out there that says if you write down your goals and you think about them on a regular basis, you’re more likely to achieve them.

I’m working really hard on changing the way I think about myself and about a lot of situations in my life.

This summer, I taught summer school with the hopes of paying off our final credit card with it (like I’ve said, more on that later). I was very nervous that something was going to come up and take that money. At the time I was reading The Secret and I knew I needed to think positively. At one point our air conditioning wasn’t working and I thought, “This is it, here goes my summer school paycheck.” But I forced myself to think positively and visualize that zero balance and how it would feel. I pictured Zach and I enjoying a nice dinner out to celebrate the lack of credit card debt (still to come). We are now credit card debt free.

Now, I don’t feel like we can control everything, which is a direction the law of attraction goes. I don’t. But I feel that we have powerful minds that our Heavenly Father intends for us to utilize and make the most of ourselves with. I think it goes hand in hand we using our talents and our bodies appropriately.

So my thoughts for the day are:

The law of attraction is real to me

Positive thinking attracts positive things

Negative thinking attracts negative things

Visualizing is powerful

The mind is powerful, we need to use it.

Have any of you heard about or read The Secret or about the law of attraction?

What do you think?

