Tags

“Our society is afflicted by a spirit of thoughtless arrogance unbecoming those who have been so magnificently blessed. How grateful we should be for the bounties we enjoy. Absence of gratitude is the mark of the narrow, uneducated mind. It bespeaks a lack of knowledge and the ignorance of self-sufficiency. It expresses itself in ugly egotism and frequently in wanton mischief….

“Where there is appreciation, there is courtesy, there is concern for the rights and property of others. Without appreciation, there is arrogance and evil.

“Where there is gratitude, there is humility, as opposed to pride”–Gordon B. Hinckley

 

How true–how ignorant we are when we fail to realize our abundant blessings.

We all have troubles. I realize that. But I was thinking the other day: for every one trouble it seems to represent at least one hundred blessings. I am blessed. My problems are definitely the types of troubles that could be defined as “first world problems.” For I:

Have a warm home of my own that I am able to come to after a day’s work.

I have people who love me and care for me inside my home…I am safe there.

I have food to eat and clothes to wear.

I can wash my hair, use soap, put on deodrant, brush my teeth, and even fancy myself up with a little makeup and perfume.

I have vehicle that takes me to work…I have work to do.

I have an education.

I get to provide my students with an education.

I can schedule doctor and dentist appointments.

I can put aside extra money for a vacation or a new outfit.

I live in a place where I am protected and safe.

I am free to speak my mind and make my own choices.

There’s not much to complain about. Every complaint I utter brings with it abundant blessings.

“I am busy” says: I have a job that provides for my family. I have a calling in a Church that I believe in with all of my heart. My Heavenly Father knows where I need to be and He has given me this opportunity. I have family and friends that I am able to spend time with.

“I am fat” says: I may eat too much at times, but at least I have food. I may not exercise as much as I should, but at least my body is capable. I have a healthy body.

“I am not living my life the way I should” says: I know that I need to pray and read my scriptures daily. I need to do more service. I need to love my neighbors. I need to forgive. I know these things will make me happy. At least I have that knowledge. At least I know what will make me happy in this life.

“I miss a person/a time in my life, etc.” says: I have led a rich and fulfilling life full of people and experiences that have made me who I am.

Today I am vowing to remember that with every trial and trouble I have thousands of blessings.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

