Tags

, , , , ,

I totally stole this idea from a fellow blogger friend. Thanks Rachel! I thought it was fun to read and look at pictures of her year in review. I’m doing the same for us. Here’s a nice little recap of what happened for us in 2011 (or at least what happened and I blogged about it):

January

Phone Picture--McCall Ice Festival, I hate this picture of myself...which is honestly probably why I never posted this little adventure we took last winter

I coached the Young Women in volleyball and that was quite traumatic for me.

Zach and I were insanely busy and I was struggling to come to terms with it. Some of you readers tried to help me cope.

Mom and I watched Brad and Emily fall in love on The Bachelor. We also watched a very crazy Michelle all season. Read about that here, here, and here, for starters.

Source

And of course, in true Sharlee fashion, I was already wishing for lots of sunshire and a good tan.

In Feburary:

We celebrated Valentine’s day in a few posts here and here of course I have no pictures to document it. And that’s about all I documented worth discussing in Feburary. I guess I have yet another New Year’s resolution, document more of our life together.

In March:

Austin and Natasha picked up these t-shirts for us while Austin was at basic training. They quickly became our favorites.

I then blogged about how I am definitely more southern than my husband.

Zach and I discorvered a new favorite game, Quiddler, and I had a funny exchange with my brother about it.

I was overwhelmed and brought to tears by my mom’s handwriting found in my classroom. Yep!

And once again, I didn’t document anything worthwhile. Man, it’s a good thing I did this so that I realize what’s missing.

In April:

Hick Date--Shooting with Austin, Natasha, and Grandpa. Later-Grilled Cheese Sandwiches/Canned Tomato Soup Dinner

I was still recovering from a serious bout of insomnia (I pray I never experience that again) and I found that Zach can put me to sleep if I can get him to talk tech to me–amazing discovery.

I went down memory lane with Misty.

I started working out with some ladies at work and I felt great…and then I stopped. Why oh why did I stop? Oh well, I am starting up again. Fall down and get back up, right?

I discovered a new favorite Lifetime t.v. show Drop Dead Diva and quickly became obsessed.

I gave up chocolate and then eventually sweets altogether for Lent.

In May:

Well, May was a well documented month.

At the very beginning of May I finished ISAT testing and left the next day for Hawaii!! The excitement that I felt at that time was insane. I could hardly stand it.  You can read a little about our visit there here and here.

We we literally showered with Leis

We were able to attend Kassie and Boi’s sealing and participate in all of the traditional wedding celebrations

And  I enjoyed reading on the balcony every morning while watching the sunrise. I was sad to say goodbye to this view and my time with Zach

But as we got on the airplane I got a text from Misty telling me she was heading into the hospital. When we got off the plane I turned my phone on and waited rather impatiently. Finally, I got a text message. Grace had come! On mother’s day nonetheless. When we got into town I went to the hospital and held that beautiful baby. Misty having a baby was one of the neatest things to see…Misty becoming a mom has been incredible altogether.

More about Grace here, here, or here

Although everything pretty much pales in comparison to Grace’s arrival. May also brought my brother’s engagement, and I realized that my Uncle Levi looks like Jackie Chan.

In June:

I wrote a letter to myself

I had a high school cafeteria experience when I tried to start the greater than game and nobody else wanted to play

But my post on Marriage Being Hard (or actually not so) made me quite popular for a little bit, that little baby was read by many.

In July:

I switched over to a wordpress and started taking my blogging just a tad more seriously, so I hosted a Giveaway. It didn’t get nearly the reaction I was hoping for, if we’re being honest, but it was a start. We’ll try again this year–so be on the lookout.

The biggest event of July was the completion of Girls’ Camp. We went, we learned, we camped, we went without sleep, and we made it all back in one piece. I was relieved to have it over with to say the least.

And we had the church sign-up sheet fiasco and thus we ended up helping out at the pioneer days activity.

In August:

In Park CIty with Richard and Aleisha for some weekend fun this summer, don't mind Zach's horribly scruffy face, my goodnes!

I went back to school and felt like my summer was unfulfilling. Fortunately there’s always summer ’12!

My parents celebrated their 30th anniversary. We celebrated by posting this awesome picture of them and then having them over for a nice dinner and playing The Newlywed game, which turned out to be a lot of fun.

Early in the month I received an email that quite frankly pissed me off. So I blogged about how my mom is in my corner always and that I love that no matter what anyone else thinks of me, my mom always thinks I light up the sky. Right, mom?

In addition, I attended my math class for one week in August, which I loved. I also read the new Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants book, which I did not love and I pretend doesn’t actually exist–it’s my right as a reader.

In September:

Some really important things happened. Shane got married. Mom wrote about it here. And Mom and Shane danced at the wedding.

Mom had a birthday and I had a birthday.

In October:

At the beginning of the month, Zach and I celebrated the anniversary of meeting for the first time, because we’re I’m cheesy like that. We celebrated being credit-card debt free and went out to a fancy fondue dinner with some of our dearest friends. They moved in November and we’ve been missing them to the point of aching.

Zach also turned 30 in October. We had  great time celebrating. He got together with some friends to play paintball and I joined in (thanks to support/encouragement from Natasha). It was actually quite fun. I wrote a lot about Zach’s birthday. You can read about it here, here, or here.

At the end of the month we visited the pumpkin patch and went to an 80’s themed Halloween party at Misty and Ken’s.

In November:

We celebrated our 2nd anniversary. It was a blissful and relaxing weekend.

We also celebrated Thanksgiving in Utah with these folks, and we had a great time, though I didn’t really blog about it…you can read a tiny bit about it here.

In December:

We finished LOST.

We hosted a Christmas party again this year with a hot chocolate bar and some fun games. Which I did not blog about of course.

And of course we celebrated Christmas–all month long really.

And there you have it.  A not-so-brief overview of our year. This really brought my attention to how little I blog about the events of our day to day lives. I think it’s because we have so much going on that I feel like I’d be constantly blogging about our dates/birthday parties/holidays/trips if I did that and there’s more that I like to write about, but I think I need to find a balance.

Thanks for following along. I hope your year was full of blessings/love/laughter and I hope 2012 brings even more!

*Enjoy ringing in the new year, don’t forget…babies get conceived on New Year’s Eve…so here’s a little something in tribute of those New Year’s Babies!

Happy New Year!

