When we moved into our home we were thrilled with all of the space we thought we had. We have an entry way closet, a linen closet, a walk-in closet in our room, and a good-sized pantry. It seemed like we would have room forever. We have three bedrooms and there is something in every closet in this house. Our pantry if full. We really don’t have much more obvious room in our house. If we’re ever going to have kids, we’ll have to find space or make  space. I decided to already start over the break. I’m sure we’re not the only ones in this little predicament. There are two ways to make and find space. The first is to purge.

Purge your old clothes. Get rid of things you don’t use. (Look forward to a springtime purging challenge/giveaway. I’ve already been working out the details in my mind!)

Here are some things I’ve found online that could be very useful to helping get rid of the stuff you don’t need and making more room for the things that you do need.

Several fun “mom blogs” I’ve read have done a daily “bag” challenge. The ideal goal is to purge a space in your home with a bag of either items to donate or trash every day. Here are a few. This blog has a 40 bags in 40 days challenge. I also found this 30 bags in 30 days challenge. These challenges are customizable for your own home.

Reading this, I found a ten item challenge. Get a trash bag right now and find at least 10 things that you can purge from your home. Did you do it? Tell me about it!

And here are some really great hints on organizing and getting rid of clutter. For example, the idea to go through a small space during television commercials and just purge then. It keeps you from sitting too long and you accomplish a little something, which I believe helps you feel all the more fulfilled.

I hope something here strikes you and you decide you want to tackle it. If so, share it with us. Do you have any de-cluttering tips? I’d love to hear them!

 

 

