Meal Plan Part 1

This is what I use my family calendar for most frequently.

Every week I sit down and plan the meals for the week.

Each family has different needs. There are certain days of the week that Zach is in class. Those days I have his meals made the night before so that I can send them to school with him. The nights that he’s not in class are the nights that I tend to make meals that are more nice. Meals that wouldn’t reheat as well as others.

For the nights that Zach has class I often make crock pot meals or meals that I can bake in the oven. Those kinds of meals tend to be easier for me to make while I make my own meal and try to take care of other items of business.

I usually sit down on Sunday or Monday and look through my recent Food Pins on Pinterest. (I try to pin at least 2 or 3 new healthy/easy meals a week). I browse my choices and plan a week+ one or two days out.

I write one or two choices down and then use common ingredients to hook them together. My thought process goes something like this:

Light Baked Potato soup calls for potatoes, turkey bacon, cheese, and sour cream.

Southwest Chicken Wraps also need sour cream, plus chicken, lettuce, tortillas, and tomatoes.

That works because Honey Mustard Chicken Tenders (link not exact) require chicken, along with pretzels and honey mustard.

I can also use some more chicken to make BBQ Chicken Salad. Plus I need to use the lettuce from the wraps.

I will have leftover tortillas from the wraps so I can use those to make Beef/Cheese Burritos.

I will have potatoes left over from the soup and serve them with some steak I have left over from Beef Stroganoff last week.

And then I write my list, go shopping, and I know I have everything I need for the week. Then I remember what I have left over and plan again for the next week.

It works really well to keep us from having too much waste. It also helps keep me out of the store throughout the week. Lastly, I don’t have to worry when I come home about what I’m making. I’ve planned healthy meals for us and purchased the ingredients which means I can’t really cheat on the eating healthy thing. It’s a win all the way around!

How about you? Do you meal plan? If so, what’s your approach?

