Here are my responses to the questions you guys asked!

Just for your entertainment, this picture makes me laugh. This was NOT intentional by the way. I don't know what I was doing or saying or anything, but I didn't even realize the camera had taken a picture until I went back through them. Then I laughed.

Q: Do you have a dream that you haven’t stated out loud to anyone?

A: What a loaded question for me. Wow! I have so many dreams I don’t even know where to begin. I don’t know if I’ve stated these out loud or not, but here goes: I want EVERYTHING I can get from life. I always have. Having the same job for thirty years has never appealed to me. Teaching is a wonderful profession but I don’t want it to be my life forever. I want to go back to school, I want my Masters and my Doctorate someday, I don’t know what I want my Masters in anymore, though, to be honest. It used to be education, but now I’m not so sure. I think I’d enjoy advertising, I just do. I think it would be fun to start something new…it’d be a pain and horribly scary but terribly exciting at the same time. I’d like to make money as a blogger someday. I’d like to be able to work part-time while doing something that I love. I’d love to be a mom that enjoys her children–that’s a dream of mine. Not just to have them but to savor my time with them. I would love to own a bed and breakfast someday I think that would be the best job. I have ideas for if we ever do strike it rich for an amazing subdivision or neighborhood, I’m talking we’d have to be seriously rolling in it! I’d love to see every state in the U.S.   I think I’d like to write a book, other days I realize I’m too lazy for something like that. I don’t know if that answers your question or not, mom. Those are some of the things (there are truly so many) that I would like a shot at. I realize I won’t get a shot at every one of them. But I keep my list long on purpose. Lots to acheive…lots to look forward to.

Q: Will you ever do the theater class you promised me. I am not the only person that thinks you have the talent?

This question was written by my mom. A little background for those of you that don’t know. My mom gave me some money (a big chunk of change actually) my first semester of college. I didn’t spend it as wisely as I could have, though. I guiltily accepted the money with a promise made to my mom that someday I would take a theatre class. I was involved in theatre in high school and mom wanted me to continue pursuing it. The thing is, I’m a little insecure and I need validation. I didn’t get enough validation. The only people who ever really told me I was any good were my family members. So I guess I chickened out and chose not to pursue it. {Although, one year, our ward one “Best Show” for our road show and I was a main character and my youth leaders did praise me then–Good memory!)Since high school I’ve only had one twinge of wishing I might have staying involved in theatre. I don’t really consider it something I regret. However, I think it would be fun to get involved. Mom, I still plan on it. I just don’t know when and I don’t exactly know what I will do. I appreciate you for supporting me, though.

Q:Was being a teacher what you always wanted to do growing up? Or did that happen when you got older? What made you decide to be a teacher?

Being a teacher was probably the furthest thing from my mind growing up. I hated school, so the idea of working in one just never even crossed my mind. I wanted to be a veterinarian during my freshman year of high school. I got lazy and decided that was too much school (hated school) so I decided I wanted to be a nurse. I took classes in high school (a biology class that was my favorite in all my years of school and a health occupations class). I didn’t go to the doctor much as a kid, so I had no idea that needles and blood made me queasy. No idea. Until I passed out while getting a vaccination at the end of my junior year for my health occupations class. In the meantime, I signed up for an Elementary Mentoring class for my senior year. I did it just to see what it would be like.

I had no intention of working in a school for anything. But I loved kids! I baby sat a lot for kids in the ward and my young women’s leaders encouraged me to give it a shot. They told me I had a talent with children. I took the class and I quickly fell in love with everything about a classroom setting. I loved the kids, I loved the different faucets of the work a teacher does, I loved everything. It was the best part of my school day. I worked all year with a classroom full of first graders. It literally changed my life. I decided then that I would be a teacher.

Just after high school I took a job working in a daycare facility. I worked that job most of my college life. It only furthered my desire to get in the classroom. I started school with Elementary Education as my major and I never changed it.

Q:Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Wow, these questions always sort of overwhelm me. I don’t know why. In ten years I hope to see myself at least some type of different career setting. Hopefully I’ll have done that before then. I certainly don’t want to be in my same classroom ten years from now. I either want to be in a different classroom or a different role–maybe a college teacher, an educational coach, or something like that. Or maybe something else entirely.

Our student loans will be paid off, so I will be able to work part-time if I haven’t been already. I hope to already be there by then.

I see myself being a parent by then. I have no idea how many children will call me mom, that’s honestly one thing we are truly playing by ear.

We hope to be either in a new home with a little more land and a tiny bit more room, or on our way there.

I want to be a better person. I hope I’ve learned a new talent or two and a whole lot in between. I hope that I still have a wonderful relationship with my family (spending time with my brother, Kylie, and their kids hopefully). I hope our kids are fully accustomed to the South and annual trips home. I hope that Zach and I are still great friends and that we are still making exciting plans for the future and dreaming big!

Q:Would you ever want a student teacher? I only ask this because I am unsure I could relinquish control of my classroom…especially around ISAT time.

This is hard because it will make me seem horrible. I know I was a student teacher once and that experience was somewhat valuable, but no. At this point I honestly don’t think I would want a student teacher.

I have no problem with someone else watching me teach. It’s exactly the control thing. I could MAYBE team teach with a student teacher. I don’t think  I could ever hand math over to someone who wasn’t trained AND passionate about DMT, though. I just couldn’t.

It would be very difficult to have a student teacher. It would be a lot of work. Oh no, I just hope I don’t have to have that discussion with anyone anytime in the near future.

Q: Is there a meal you’ve grown to love as a result of being married to Zach?

There are several things that I loved before Zach and now I LOVE because of Zach. Some of the meals we ate a lot when we were first married fit that category: grilled cheese sandwiches, mac and cheese (with hot dog), and hamburgers to name a few.

As for foods I’ve grown to like since Zach? Well, those are even better. Oddly, I started eating ham after marrying Zach. No real reason why. He did nothing to make that happen. I think it’s because we made so much pizza when we were first married. My favorite kind of pizza is Hawaiian so I would be cutting up slices of ham to put on the pizza and I just started eating it. I don’t love it. It’s not my favorite, but I eat it on rare occasion now, and I didn’t ever even touch it, if it wasn’t on pizza, before.

My biggest change, though, is steak! It started when we ate at Texas Roadhouse one time. I was raving about the chicken critters and how amazing they are and I made Zach take a bite. He agreed they were incredible (and has occasionally been tempted to order them himself). Then he made me take a bite of his steak. (He orders the ribeye mid-rare). I took one bite and it was to.die.for. Oh my gosh, it’s one of the best things I have ever tasted.

There have been a few times we’ve bought steak (ribeye) at home and Zach has grilled it. He is a master on the grill. It is amazing and delicious and my mouth is literally watering as I type this. Thanks to Santa (the Santa that stopped at mom and dad’s house this year) Zach got a really nice grill and we can make some delicious steak with a little more ease. Now, when we eat at Texas Roadhouse Zach gives me a big chunk of his steak and I swap him a critter. It’s our thing and I look just as forward to that bite of steak as I do to my critters. It’s funny. I never thought I would ever eat steak. I certainly didn’t ever think I would eat my meat rare. I am sold on it, though, and I don’t think I could eat it any other way! Funnily enough, I’ve become a steak snob.

Q:If you had the opportunity to go back to school for something other than teaching, would you?

Would I have graduated with a different degree? No. I am so happy that I graduated with my degree in education. I am so grateful for the opportunities I have had to learn and grow while teaching. I love teaching. I don’t want to teach forever, though. I never did.

My principal constantly asks me when I’m getting my Masters degree. I appreciate it, he is pushing me because he sees potential and I am so grateful for that. I have explained that I will be taking it so slowly because I will not take out loans for that degree. (Sidenote: Zach and I have discussed me going back to school one class at a time this summer maybe).

The problem is. I have no idea what I want the degree in. I don’t know if I want to go into curriculum and instruction, ed leadership, or something else entirely.

There are other venues that interest me outside of education, absolutely. Do I want to go back to school for them?I’m not sure. I get so torn. I love the kids. I always want to work with kids, but I have interests in things that don’t involve kids.

So, to answer your question. I honestly don’t know.

Q: Why don’t you like to read books that are deemed “trendy”? I’m thinking “Hunger Games” as I type this.

I don’t know exactly. I never have liked to do the same thing as other people. I know lots of people read Jodi, so this seems silly, but at least I recognize that (more on me and my “double standards” in an upcoming post). But if it’s all the craze, I don’t feel like I made the decision to read the book myself.

It’s different if you suggest the book to me and it’s not my own idea to read it. If you (Misty) suggests a book, I will usually read it. I don’t think you ever actually told me I should read The Hunger Games when you finished. Usually if you think I’ll like it, you do. So I just didn’t think much of it. Then it became this big thing and I become more resistant.

I don’t like being told what to do. If certain people tell me to read a book, I will be okay with it. There are other people, though, that might tell me to read something and I am defiant. Sometimes I’m like the kid who you tell to sit down and he sits on the floor instead of in his chair. He may be making an ass of himself, but he’s not going to cave in. That’s me.

It seems dumb, but it’s my personality. In elementary school I hated it when the teacher would tell us we had an assignment and then she’d throw out ideas for the assignment and she’d say the idea that I was thinking. Oh my gosh, I hated that! I hated not seeming like my idea was original.

I don’t like to dress trendy (I will never wear skinny jeans). I like my ideas to be my own–I have to create my own lessons. I rarely assign worksheets. It’s just how I am. I don’t know. I’ve always been that way. I don’t know how many times my mom has answered the phone only to hear me utter the words, ‘It was MY idea first!” It’s juvenile and silly, but it’s me.

With that said, I am not opposed to trendy books as much as it seems. I resisted the Twilight books for years and then when I finally gave in, I couldn’t get into it. I couldn’t get past page fifty of the first book. They just weren’t that good. Definitely not worth the hype so it really didn’t leave me feeling like I miss out when things are “trendy.”

I am seriously contemplating reading The Hunger Games. The idea has occurred to me a few times before Zach started reading them. Now that he’s read them, I’d like to see the movie with him and I’m thinking I could read the books.

The only thing holding me back is honestly, the concept. I know that you (Misty) read them so that can’t be that bad. I just don’t know–it seems so bizarre so they really haven’t pulled me in.

What’s pulling me in is you, Zach, and the rest of the world telling me how good they are. So will I read them? Probably.

But will I continue to resist trendy things? Probably.

