Yes, today is Groundhog day (and yes, we apparently have six more weeks of winter…ugh), but that’s not the Groundhog Day I wish to spend time writing about today.

Image

                                          source

The movie, is what I aim to discuss today. Or rather, the plot of the movie.

Have you seen it? I hated it the first time I saw it. (So did mom and she still does to this day). In college, though, we had to watch it for an assignment in one of the best classes I ever took. We had to discuss it and it made me see the movie in a different light. I liked it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it.

Bill Murray plays a weaterman who continues to wake up every day and it’s the same day, Groundhog Day. He starts trying to make different choices to get it to change the outcome.

Do you ever feel like that? I sure do. I realized it just this week. There are parts of my day or week that are literally the same day in/day out. While it doesn’t always bug me, it has been recently.

I have the same morning routine for getting ready. From how I wake up, the steps I take once I get out of bed, to the order I put my makeup on.

I have a schedule that I follow every day. From when I teach reading, math, and language, etc. I have routines for days of the week, pre-tests on Mondays, corrections, and handwriting. Tests on Fridays for spelling and reading.

Then there are our evenings, scheduled around Zach’s school schedule. Of course I have church stuff on the same night every week.

I don’t usually complain but I don’t know, lately, I guess maybe it’s the routine that’s been making me feel so “slumpish.”

I realized the other day that I have officially spent more time in the classroom, than I did in high school, college, or any other job. Perhaps my mind does crave more change than I thought. I suppose I’m getting a little antsy.

Has your day-to-day ever gotten you a little down?

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful. I realize that I am lucky that I have a warm bed that I climb out of every morning at the same time. That I’m lucky that I’m able to get out of bed, walk through my home, and go to work.

I’m lucky to make a decent living with my routine and I’m very lucky to be a member of the Church. I am lucky to have a husband that I miss when he’s away and that I can’t wait to simply have dinner with.

I realize that, but sometimes I don’t recognize that when I’m feeling sorry for myself.

I have already made some changes. I think this feeling has been coming on since before the new year. I think deep down, that’s why I wanted a new year’s resolution to change up my morning routine. We are eating a new breakfast these days. And although it seems silly, I’ve started turning on episodes of Frasier on Netflix while I made breakfast and put the lunches together.

I have been making myself busy in the evenings trying to organize, although that area needs so much work.

Today I will paint my nails (toe not finger, I don’t paint my fingernails with color, did you know that?) a festive red.

I will make something I saw on Pinterest to tell Zach how much I love him as I’ve been quite the grumpy wife lately.

I think, in the ways that I can, it’s time to change things up. I’ve started a new project…brand new territory, with this group of students. Keep your fingers crossed that it works well, you’ll be hearing lots about it if it turns out. I am super excited and so are my students.

I’m trying to change up the things I can control and be grateful for all of it anyway.

Am I alone, does this ever happen to you? If it has, what do you do when things start feeling repetitive?

 

 

 

 

