My mom is one of the busiest people I know, I often have guilt about that.

I feel bad that I’m not as busy and that I can’t offer my mom the gift of time in the way that I would like.

Then I went grocery shopping with my mom today.

pin

I realized something. I can give my mom the gift of time. I realized that I have a tiny bit better shopping skills than my mom does. I thought that everyone shared these skills but after my shopping spree today I realized that my mom and about a million others could use this advice.

Here are a few tips I have for someone when they are grocery shopping:

1. Don’t ever go to Costco on a Saturday. (You will truthfully lose at least an hour of your life..that’s a load of laundry washed and folded, a nap, dinner made…there you go, mom. I’ve already given you an hour).

2. Have a plan. Grocery shopping (especially on a Saturday) is not the same as window shopping, relaxed shopping. It just isn’t. If you want to wander aisles aimlessly, you probably shouldn’t be out shopping on a Saturday. In addition, you will be there forever. Have a plan. Go in with a mission: to get your stuff and get out. I meal plan and use my meal plan to make a grocery list. My list is usually laid out by sections of the store: produce, meat, dairy, bread, etc.)

3. Keep a prepared purse. The checkout line for the grocery store is not the place to rummage through every pocket of your purse or wallet looking for your debit card or Costco card, or heaven forbid, both! Make sure your cards are somewhere accessible and somewhere you know where they are.

Those are my main tips. I mean you can’t go wrong if you walk in prepared and on a mission. You can be in and out in less than an hour, for sure.

Here are some other pieces of advice I have for people at the store:

-If you are in the bulk foods section and someone else is waiting for the same items MOVE OVER if you have the space.

-Why a family outing to the grocery store? I will never understand this. Four kids and two parents make six people you have to try to navigate around.

-ON THE RIGHT! There is nothing in the center of the aisle so stay on the right side of the aisle and get your things. My goodness.

What are your tips and tricks for getting the grocery shopping done?

What do rules do you wish people would follow at the grocery store?

