Tags

Still in a romantic mood after Valentine’s day, I thought I’d post a little something that I’ve been thinking about for a while.

While we were in Utah over Thanksgiving, we spent a lot of time with Grandma.

Zach’s Grandma Mary certainly speaks her mind.

While we were, there was a time when Zach and I shoved ourselves into a chair. We were cuddling and talking and Grandma interrupted us.

I cannot remember exactly what she said, but she said something irrelevant and I turned to her and asked what she wanted.

Her reply was, “Nothing! I just wanted you guys to pay attention to someone other than yourselves.”

She was of course being half serious, half funny.

I apologized and she replied, ‘Use ’em while you’ve got ’em, that’s my piece of advice.”

The conversation spiraled into some inappropriate talk of how much Grandma loved her husband and enjoyed certain “activities” with him. That’s just how she is.

Anyway, I think Grandma’s advice is probably some of the best I’ve ever heard.

Use ’em while you’ve got ’em.

Kiss him when he walks into the door at night. Kiss him goodbye in the morning.

Cuddle him on the couch for a minute longer. Pack a love note in his lunch. Make him his favorite dinner.

Do it often. Do it as much as you can. We never know how long we have the one’s we love. Zach’s grandma has been without her husband for over twenty years.

Some have less time alone. Some have more.

So if you’re lucky enough to share your life with someone, truly spend it with them. Take advantage of that hand to hold, that friend on the other end of the line, and that companionship.

