So, I’ve been reading The Hunger Games.  I’ve told Zach as I’ve been reading them (note: I’m not finished yet..I’ve got about thirty pages to go) that I see myself sometimes as the people in the Capitol and sometimes I could see myself as a person in the districts.

I see myself eating my big fat meals, in my safe home, going to work safely everyday, with no major fears about having a child here in the United States, and blogging about Oreo cookies. Sure we donate to our church’s humanitarian fund (and I feel really good about where that money goes and how it’s spent). But other than that, we sit pretty in our happy little world.

I also know that I’m not in a position of power. The thought of someday being at the mercy of a corrupt government is honestly terrifying.

These are the discussions I’ve been having with Zach lately. And then I saw this video. If you haven’t seen it already, I highly recommend you watch it. It’s a half an hour long, so make sure you have time. Zach and I watched it together and we are ordering packets.

Watch it! And then let me know what you think.

 

 

