Say you can’t sleep. (Does that ever happen to you?)

It happens to me, but not that often. However, it certainly happens for me more often than it does for Zach.

I’ve noticed a trend the past few years, it happens around ISAT time. I don’t know why. My kids have done well and like I’ve said, I don’t feel too stressed. But something, I don’t know what, keeps my brain from shutting off at night, no matter how physically exhausted I am.

{Source} Someday Iwill have a porch big enough for this bed and I will have a bed on it….and I will nap in the early spring/summer sun on it and I will be in heaven.

How do you get to sleep on the nights when it’s a struggle?

I’ve tried a million different things:

*I’ve had Zach talk tech to me

*I’ve counted backwards from 100 in patterns. For example: Start at 100 and go back 4, 3, 2, 1, 4, 3, 2, 1 etc.

*Sing a hymn. NOT A SONG–songs get stuck and are horribly annoying, hymns are not the same. Don’t know why, it just is.

*Say a prayer

*Picture dreams for my future becoming a reality. This probably sounds cheesy as all get-out but it’s my favorite. It keeps me from focusing on today’s minute worries, it’s fun to think about accomplishing goals, and I believe strongly in the power of positive thinking, so it’s a thrice as beneficial.

*Most recently I’ve started counting my blessings

The thing is, none of these methods are a surefire way to get me to sleep. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. I need to add some more tips and tricks to my getting to sleep tool box.

What do you do when you can’t sleep?

