One of my biggest pet peeves is people who do not write/send thank you cards. It drives me crazy. There’s not much more to say on the matter other than it’s rude-cut dried, plain and simple, rude!

Someone took the time to throw you a shower or buy you a gift, take two minutes to thank them.

It’s that simple.

{Source}

But rather than sitting and being judgemental and thinking people are rude I realized maybe they aren’t meaning to. Maybe they are just over thinking the issue. Maybe it’s not simple to them. Maybe it’s a daunting task. And so I bring you, my tips for writing thank-you’s:

1. Have thank-you cards on hand. If you are expecting gifts (wedding, shower, baby, etc…) plan on thank-you cards. Stock up so that you have enough, more than enough is better than not enough. If you don’t have enough, it’s highly likely you won’t remember to pick them up at the store and those last few cards won’t make it to the mailbox. Currently, I’m not expecting any gifts/services but I do have a handful of cards on hand at all time at home and at school (I keep them in my desk, I always add an extra pack at Christmastime). It makes it easy to just jot down the note or at least pull the card out and put a name on it. Sometimes, I won’t lie, I’ve sent an email to thank someone for a kind deed, but I really prefer to take the time to write a card. Cards don’t have to be expensive, you can get a box of like 50 thank-you cards at Target for under $10. I always buy blank cards in packs of 8 or 10 at Target or Michael’s to use as mine. They’re blank, but I fill them up with words of gratitude.

2. Don’t personalize every detail of the card. I wrote/sent out over 200 thank-you cards for our wedding. There was no way to personalize each and every line of every card to make it unique. I thought about how I would say thank-you to one person and came up with like three or four basic structures and used that structure to write each card.

3. But be sure to personalize some of it. Getting a generic “Thank you for the gift” is still better than nothing, but I think it’s better to thank them specifically. Your basic structure could be, “We’d like to thank you for taking time to come to our wedding and show your support. We’re also so grateful for __________. We plan to use it for ________________.” That was one of the structures I set up for my wedding thank-you’s. I pictured writing to my Grandpa Gordon first. He gave me money, I thought that he would probably like to know how that money would be spent–since it was such a thoughtful and generous gift. I told people we were putting our money in savings, or spending gift cards on things that would help turn our house into a home, etc. I thought they’d like to know how their gift was making a difference for us, that it would be meaningful to the start of our marriage.

I remember a thank-you card I got from a couple in my old singles ward. They got married and Zach and I gave them a gift card to a restaurant. In their thank you card they told us that they stopped at the restaurant and had dinner with our gift card on the road at the start of their honeymoon. That little piece of information honestly just made me feel good. I loved hearing that our gift was appreciated/used/and hopefully helped make a memory of some kind.

4. Give yourself a deadline and set aside time. If you don’t have much time, take ten minutes a night and bust away at them until you’re done. But don’t let time be an excuse. Someone took time to look up your registry/think up a gift, buy it, wrap it, get it to you, and chances are, they are busy too. So thank them. Make it a priority and before you know it, you’ll be done.

5. Send them all at once. Take them to the post office or buy plenty of stamps, but make sure you send them all at the same time. If you leave a few out, who knows the next time you’ll buy stamps or run to the post office and those few cards might wind up lost in the shuffle.

What are your thoughts on thank-you cards? Do you care about it as much as I do? Do you have any tips/tricks to help you get your cards onto paper and into the mailbox?

{Have you done something daring? Oh, it doesn’t have to be monumental…did you speak to a stranger, apply for a new job, experiment with a recipe or craft, plan a surprise, start a weight-loss program, etc??!? Don’t forget to enter my “Take a Risk Giveaway“!}

