What do you look for in a blog?

{Pin}

As a person who loves both reading and writing blogs I am curious as to what it is that my readers look for when they are reading a blog.

I know a few of my preferences include:

-Pictures! I love pictures. I am far more (times 4282) interested in reading your blog if you post a picture than if you don’t. I’ve found many great blogs that generally don’t post pictures, but I just prefer it.

-I like to see who’s writing. I like to have an idea about who’s writing the blog…a face behind the name I guess. I’ve realized that I’m far more likely to leave a comment if there’s an “About Me” section of some kind than if there’s not. I think I just feel more welcome.

-I have three general types of blogs I read: 1. relationship blogs (motherhood, marriage, family relationships, etc…) 2. Food (mainly healthy food blogs) 3. inspiring blogs (usually can include 1 or 2 but also have an element of inspiration as someone has overcome a life-altering challenge and is willing to share about it). Those are things of interest to me.

-Design–I am a sucker for a well-designed blog. In fact, I’m hoping to host my own site and revamp the design of believinginsomething this summer. We’ll see. I am going to try it out myself so I make no promises. I like blog designs that are clean, easy to navigate,  with tabs, links, and of course…pictures.

Those are the main things that appeal to me in a blog.

What about you? What do you look for? What makes you stop and read?

