Sunday will be my first Father’s Day without my dad. I was going back and forth in my mind on whether or not I would blog on the topic and I decided that although I am sure doing this will make me cry- I still have to. I want to pay tribute to the guy who loved me my whole life. I also want to pay tribute to the other important dad’s in my life too.  I have an excellent Father In-Law and of course, saving the best for last, the father of my children, Todd.

  I am very much the person I am today because of my dad.  My dad is the reason for so many aspects of my personality and my life.  He is the reason I know the value of hard work. He is the reason I take a traditional ride through the mountains to look at the leaves in autumn. He is the reason that I honored my parents. He is the reason that I love to see the Thunderbirds and Blue Angels. He’s the reason that I love decorating a Christmas tree. He is the reason I take a trip to the car wash every week and that I get my oil changed religiously. He is the reason that I love to eat out at restaurants and that Sizzler carries good memories for me from my very young childhood on. He is the reason that I cry when I hear the Christmas story from the Bible. He is the reason I love to be outdoors. He’s the reason that I love a nice car. He is the reason that I now have to have Todd’s dress shirts dry-cleaned and pressed. He’s the reason I love the smell of Old Spice and Brut and that I love the look of a blue collar working man much more than a high powered businessman. The reason I vote and the reason I made him vote when we first moved to Idaho too. He is the reason I like country music. He is the reason that I love animals. He is the reason I like men with really deep voices. He’s the reason I can find humor in the most bizarre things and that I can laugh at myself.  He is the reason that I am more grateful for Todd. He is the reason I love America, the flag, soldiers and freedom. He is the reason I pray and work and love my grandparents. He is the reason I had such good memories with my cousins.  He is that reason that I know that you must NEVER give up. He is the reason I would not give up my name when I married even though I loved Todd madly. I am proud of him.. I love him still and I hope to bring honor to his name until the day I meet him again. He was my dad, my children’s grandpa and in the past few years he became a real friend. I miss you dad.. I love you and Happy Father’s Day.  

  Gordon- I love Gordon for a million things. He is the reason my husband and children are tall :) He is also half responsible for how good looking my husband is. Seriously though… he is hard working and faithful. He taught all of his children by example to persevere and work hard. He is wise with his money and his family was always well provided for. He is a quiet, but dryly funny guy. He makes me laugh even when his kid’s don’t see his humor. He is a faithful and good man. He honored his parents and he loves his sisters. He is very good to his children. He believes in taking very good care of things and making them last. He does this with people as well as possessions. He has lifelong friendships and family members that he honors always. He is the reason that my husband and children are blunt (this is funny as well as unnerving). He is the reason I can still call Tremonton home. He treats me like one of his own. He is probably a partial genetic cause for my son being such a sports fanatic. Sharlee told me that Grandpa Gordon was probably one of her best friends in her dad’s family. He is also the reason I still get to hear Ray Price. He is a strong and courageous man and I hold the utmost respect and love for him. I would truly do anything for him. I am also proud to carry his last name.  I love you Gordon Happy Father’s Day!   

 Todd- I was thinking about how excited Todd was when he became Shar’s dad and how very proud he was of her and then later down the road when he and Shar decided together that we were getting a boy and how happy he was with Shane. I wanted to be the mom of Todd’s children. He and I had a really good thing going when we were first married and I just thought that kids would work right in to that. Todd is the reason we were well cared for- he is so very hardworking and  he is the reason that my kids are hardworking. He is the reason they like higher quality items. He is the reason that they are both tall and good looking :) He is the reason that they stand up for themselves. He is the reason (along with Gordon) that they are unflinchingly blunt sometimes. He is the reason they can see things and figure them out. He is also the reason they get things done when they want them. He will decide on something and then just do it. He is the reason that Shar likes to watch mystery movies and try to figure them out. He is quiet and has a dry sense of humor like his dad. He is the reason that I still love being married and the reason that I have two families to call home. He is the reason that we could afford to send my son on a mission and the reason that my children know that the gospel can change your life. He is the reason my children are loyal.   I love being the mother of his children and I love him.  Happy Father’s Day Todd.  

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads, grandpas, uncles, brothers, teachers, friends and leaders of children. I feel this day is to honor all of you ..

“Fatherhood is pretending the present you love most is soap-on-a-rope.”
~ Bill Cosby

