The other night I made the best salad. It was the perfect salad for summer, especially the hot HOT month of July. It was even better that Zach and I had just gotten back from the gym, so this salad was  a perfectly refreshing meal. I decided I must share.

There’s not much to making this salad, yet it turns out incredibly pretty, filling, and it tastes amazing.

I got the idea when we were in Georgia. Upon landing in Atlanta, Zach’s family immediately all wanted to gather in one spot for dinner before heading separate ways for the rest of the day. I was certainly hungry, but when we chose The Dwarf House and I realized it was just basically a sit-in Chick Fil A, I was sad. I had planned to eat as healthy as possible on vacation. Even taking care to pack things like fruit and fig bars with me just in case I needed a snack. The menu was enticing.

But I had been just sitting on a plane for 8+hours and that will sure make you feel gross. I knew that if I caved and had what everyone else was having, I would just feel worse. So I ordered a Berry Chicken Salad and hoped for the best.

When it came out, I was amazed. It only cost $5.85 and was HUGE. It was full of fresh, crisp lettuce and all sorts of fruits. I devoured that salad. And I felt so much better and peppy after I did.

I recreated it when we got home and I loved it just.as.much. It is definitely a favorite and I want to share it with everyone.

Here’s what I used for 2 salads:

*2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (cooked however you prefer, we grilled ours)

*1 can mandarin oranges

*1 green apple

*4-6 strawberries sliced

*20 green/red seedless grapes

*Sunflower seeds

*Shredded Cheddar Cheese

*4+cups of Romaine Lettuce

*The salad at the restaurant had a Berry Balsamic dressing that I just loved. I couldn’t find it at my local grocery store so I took a chance with Wishbone’s Raspberry Hazelnut Vinaigrette and it did not disappoint. That dressing is out of this world. I highly recommend it. However, any dressing that your would enjoy and think would compliment this salad would be your choice here.

Shred lettuce and line 2 (or more, we use more) cups of lettuce on a plate. Place chicken breast slices on top of lettuce, scattering around the plate. For each salad use half of the fruit and place the fruit on 1/4 of the plate. So 1/4 of the plate holds the oranges while another 1/4 holds strawberry slices, etc. (This doesn’t really matter, you could mix it all together and it would still taste the same. I like it for two reasons: 1. It’s pretty. 2. I like choosing which piece of fruit I want to eat.) Sprinkle top with sunflower seeds and cheese if preferred. Drizzle with dressing.

Enjoy!

 

