If you could bring a character to life from any book, who would it be and why?

Gloria Dump from Because of Winn Dixie.

Photo Source-Obviously this is from the movie, but I truly feel like this movie matches the book more than any other book/movie combo I’ve ever seen.

My answer actually surprises me. I would have thought that I would have  chosen a character from one of Jodi’s books. Most likely someone from The Pact, My Sister’s Keeper, or Second Glance. But I decided I mostly want to talk to them because I want answers about the book itself. Why did they do certain things or feel certain ways? Don’t get me wrong, I love Jodi’s characters, and I’m sure if I reread some of the books I would realize that there are people who I’d like to interact with in my day-to-day life and not just ask a million questions about their choices, but none of them stood out in a way that influenced my answer to that question right now.

Then I thought about the girls from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, but honestly, I would want all of them. I couldn’t choose just one. I would lean more toward Bridgette but I really think I’m more impacted by the sisterhood as a whole. I’d like to meet them all together, as a group. I’m sure I’d be inspired.

So I started thinking about my favorite books and their impact. Because of Winn Dixie is an incredible children’s book and definitely one of my favorites. I recommend it to anyone…young or old.

Gloria Dump is an eccentric character in the book. She really stands out from the very beginning, but she stands out even more when she starts sharing her wisdom. From her tree off liquor bottles that she hangs to keep the ghosts of her past away, to her wise words to Opal when Opal inquires about Otis and the fact that Otis has been to jail–Gloria understands compassion in a big way. Gloria tells Opal that just because Otis has done bad things it doesn’t make him a bad person.

I would love to sit on Gloria’s front porch and drink lemonade (it’s set in the South you know:) and tell her about the bad things I’ve done, the struggles I face, and all the changes I want to make. I know she’d listen intently, like she really cared. I’d love to feel her acceptance and hear her wise words about moving forward and loving those around us.

I feel like my nerdiness is definitely revealing itself just a bit in this post. As I’m writing about these characters as if they are real, I’m thinking of when my husband does this with his nerdy games he plays and I tease him about it. I guess nerds come in all forms, right?

If you feel like sharing in the nerdiness, tell me…If you could bring a character to life from any book, who would it be and why?

