Thanksgiving is just a few days away. I’d like to spend the next few days reflecting on the blessings in my life. I could never count all of my blessings on this blog. There’s not enough storage space in the universe to hold them all–I am so blessed. This week I would like to focus on some of  those things.

My Immediate Family

Just a few weeks ago we were sealed together as a family forever. How blessed I felt to have them all with me that day. We are a tight-knit little bunch. There are so many laughs that are had in a single Sunday dinner at my parents’ house. So many memories. So many inside jokes. So much love. So much understanding. We love each other, faults and all. We forgive one another. We forget. We move on. My parents’ home is still a refuge from the sometimes harsh world and for that, I will always be grateful.

A while back I was feeling a little more sensitive and emotional than I needed to, but I was. I got home that night and a few hours later I got this text from my dad:

That one text actually made me start bawling. Like I said, I was feeling a little more emotional than normal and was feeling especially grateful for my family. But the other thing is, in that one little message a million memories were brought back.

Oliver is my dad’s favorite movie. As much as my dad seems to be a tough guy, he waxes a little nostalgic. It’s the first movie he ever went to at the movie theatre, his sister took him. Plus, oddly, my dad has a thing for musicals (The Sound of Music, Fiddler on the Roof, etc.) Anyway, the movie is like 3 hours long but he would always want us to watch it together as a family. None of us really liked it but him, but we’d watch it. During the song “Who will buy my sweet red roses?” My brother made serious fun of that song and sang it at the top of his lungs over and over again and we’d all (read: my mom and I) laaaaaaaaaugh and laaaaaaaugh.

Sometimes Shane would randomly break out in that song or “You’ve got to pick a pocket or two.” And we’d (read: my mom and I) laugh some more.

That little message reminded me that even though I’m a grown up, I can still go home. I can still sit on the couch and watch a movie with my parents and my brother. Our family has just grown. More people to make fun of, more people to do the making fun, and more people to share in the love.

I am blessed to have millions of memories like the Oliver memory. I am blessed to be able to receive a one sentence message and have it feel like I’m connected to the ones I love the most in an instant. I knew Shane would be getting the same message and that he’d have the same flood of memories. I knew that mom and dad were probably laughing when dad sent the text because they assumed we’d be annoyed. (After all, we hated that movie). I was suddenly able to picture the most important people in my life all smiling a little over the exact same thing for just a moment.

I’m so thankful for my family.

 

