Source

I love soups in the wintertime. In the fall/winter seasons I try to make at least one homemade soup a week. (Likewise, in the summer I try to make one homemade salad as a meal per week). It’s a good way to use fresh veggies in the winter and fill up.

Vegetable soup is one of my favorites, but I’ve struggled with every recipe I found. I want a delicious broth and I have never been able to quite find one that wasn’t watery.

I adapted a recipe I found online and I’m going to share it with you today. The great thing is, I just threw in the things that I had that sounded good. Making for a very fresh and tasty soup. I loved it and I look forward to making it again soon.

Vegetable Soup

Recipe adapted from food.com 

3 cups V8 Vegetable Juice

3 cups water

3 beef bullion cubes (or chicken or vegetable)

1 stalk celery chopped

3 cups baby carrots

3 red potatoes peeled and cubed

1 can diced tomatoes (not drained)

1 can corn drained (or frozen)

1 cup fresh green beans (cut in half)

2 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

about half a packet of dry Italian dressing mix

Throw all ingredients in a pot and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer (with lid on) for 30 minutes until carrots and potatoes are tender.

*You can easily include meat in this or pasta. Both would work very well

**I think this stew would be AMAZING in the fall with fresh zucchini and squash. I LOVE squash/zucchini in vegetable soups and I think this one will be the best yet!

 

