What is the worst date you have ever been on?

I’ve had a couple in my day. There was the date in high school where he planned to take me indoor rock climbing, but I wasn’t 18 so I couldn’t climb. He climbed while I sat on the floor and watched. Then there was the first guy I ever went out with in college. He refused to accept that I wasn’t interested and insisted that he could convince me we were destined for one another. I begrudgingly went on the date. He ate, while I sat and watched, I didn’t ever order because it wasn’t a date. While he ate, he explained that he had prophetic visions and that we were supposed to be married.

Source

But even worse, was a guy I was actually kind of excited about. He was from my singles ward and there was a brief period of time where I had three men ask for my number in one week! That was so thrilling for me. He had a good job and he was a nice guy, at least I thought. He was attractive, too. So this date, I was looking forward to.

Over dinner, he talked about polygamy, which I struggle with and he said things like, “I think it’s okay as long as you’re the first spouse. The first spouse is like the main spouse and the others are basically just servants, which is actually pretty cool.” “Pretty cool” pretty much did him in right then and there. I already knew.  (By the way, that’s not true, I did some research on that after our dinner conversation). Needless to say, I was less than impressed.

Aside from dinner, he didn’t have anything else planned. He took me back to his house to hang out with his roommates. It could have been pretty fun except they asked me to join them for a movie. I asked what it was rated and they said, “R.” I told them that I didn’t watch R rated movies.

This was not well-received by my date. He was put out that he had to either take me home or find something else for us to do.

He opted to take me to a late movie. There were two movies playing. One of them was Shall We Dance the other was Larry the Health Inspector. I had been wanting to see Shall We Dance and really really didn’t want to see the other movie. Not with any part of me was I interested.

I mentioned that I wanted to see Shall We Dance and he said, “Well, I’ve already seen Larry the Health Inspector ad it’s really funny. Let’s go to that.”(As a sidenote I truly feel like there isn’t a single part of me in how I act, dress, or talk that would ever lead someone to believe that a bathroom humor movie would be the thing to take me to. The fact that he wanted to take me to it and thought that it was a good idea to woo me over was entirely offensive).

I LET HIM! I should have just demanded he take me home, but I let him!!

The movie was just as bad as I had assumed. Crude, vile, class-less and there was a moment where I was entirely uncomfortable and wanted to cry.

Finally the movie ended and he took me home. He’s the only man who ever did lean in for a kiss after a first date with me. I don’t know what that says about me, but I wasn’t having it. Not even because of my kissing promise to myself, I wouldn’t have kissed him for anything after that date.

I felt incredibly disrespected from the chauvinistic dinner conversation, to the lack of respect for my standards about watching a movie, to taking me to a crude movie. At no point on that date, did I feel like he considered me a lady let alone a daughter of God.

And wouldn’t you know. He asked me out again. I turned him down (and still felt bad about it!) and he argued with me. He even continued calling me for a few weeks AFTER I told him I wasn’t interested.

And to top it all off, he was the type who refused to talk to me at church after that.

That’s by far the worst date I’ve ever been on.

(Last I heard he wasn’t married but was dating a chick about a million years older than him.)

What about you? Tell me about your worst date. 

