Today is a very exciting day for me! Today Rachel, from Postcards from Rachel, gave me a little space on her blog to share some of my thoughts. My favorite thing about Rachel’s blog is the travel theme found throughout it.

I decided to share some of the things I’ve learned since being married about traveling with someone else. Tips 1-3 can be found on Rachel’s blog, I’d love it if you’d go check them out. Here are my last two tips for traveling with your significant other:

4. What to do about expectations…

I actually have a post that’s been in my drafts for months on this topic. I feel like expectations are good for us. They motivate, encourage, and help us to constantly strive for “better.” But expectations and a vacation don’t always mesh so well and maybe it’s time to throw those babies out the door.

I’m most likely not going to be as rested as I think. I won’t see “enough” of anywhere I’ve ever been probably. And I’m going to get worn out.

When you are traveling with someone else they, most likely, have different ideas of what the trip will look like. Whether they think they do or not. Letting go of your ideal trip will help you to create your ideal trip with your travel partner while you’re there…and it will be a memorable and enjoyable trip with few regrets because you just knew you wanted to see the place you were visiting, but you didn’t put restrictions on how you saw it.

To this day, I still have no idea what gave me the idea to “thumb’s up” the camera. I’ve never done that before. I’m not a “thumb’s up” kind of girl. But for some reason, I did it. It makes me laugh every time I look at this picture!

5. Say What You Want

Traveling together can be difficult for the two of us because we often worry too much that the other person is getting to do or see what he or she wants. I love this about us because it shows that the other person’s comfort comes before our own, but it can be trying. On one of our vacations, I said to Zach, “We care too much about the other person being happy.” I loved Zach’s response, “It’s not the caring that the other person is happy that’s the problem, our problem is we won’t tell the other what we want to do and just talk about it.” So we did. I said, “These are the things I want to do.” Zach shared his things. A lot of the time we have similar ideas about what we want to see, but sometimes we have differing interests (i.e. Zach’s more educational and I’m more focused on the edible). Then we just figured out a way to alternate and prioritize the things. That way we knew the other was happy and we were happy because of that, if that makes any sense?

What have you learned about traveling with someone else? Do any of these ring true to you as well or do you completely disagree? 

