I really didn’t think that this was enough to warrant a blog post. Mom demanded a picture and a blog post. This weekend I completed my

FIRST EVER 5K RUN!

race for cure

(This is me after the race, not before. I couldn’t have been more happy in that moment.)

The main reason that I didn’t want to dedicate a post to it, is because I don’t want to jinx all the epiphanies I had while preparing to run the race and actually running it. So I’m going to hold onto those for a while longer and hopefully I’ll share them on here someday. Sometimes I share things publicly and then I feel like I have to follow through with them and that makes me rebellious. Me+Agency=Best Buds.

So here’s what I WILL tell you:

-I’ve been wanting to actually bite the bullet and RUN a freakin’ race for a while. I’ve literally talked about it for years. I finally did it and I am so pleased with that!

-I teeter-tottered around this particular race for weeks and registered pretty last minute for it.

-Meaning, I only ran FOUR times in preparation. (Aside from any gym cardio stuff which is not the same as hauling xxx lbs across 3 miles of pavement).

-My last practice run was 4/10 of a mile short of a 5K…I added the last 4/10 on race day and cut my running time from my last practice run by 30 seconds! (I think that can be chalked up to the energy of the race)

-I beat my goal…barely!

-I didn’t stop to walk. Not once.

-I did it all by myself. No team. No partner. Just me. (Well, Zach came on NO sleep to cheer me on at the finish line. LOVE THAT GUY!)

-The last 40 seconds or so were a complete blur. I gave it my all to cross that line and when I saw the timer and I was beating my time I pushed even further.

-As soon as I crossed the line and met up with Zach, I felt like I was in a daze. My legs were jello, I was so hot, my mind felt blurry, and I started to cry…still not sure why on that one.

-I felt very proud of myself and very grateful for my body the entire time.

-I called my mom to tell her I finished and to tell her my time and at the end of the call  mom said, “I’m really proud of you, Rufie! I’m so proud of you. I think it’s so great that you did that and I think it’s AWESOME that you did it by yourself. Good for you!” I teared up and as I hung up the phone I said to Zach, “My mom told me she was proud of me. Proud of me for running 3  miles for crying out loud. That’s like nothing. And yet, that makes me feel SO good. I sure hope I can be that kind of mom some day.”

-It was a really good day.

