I’m taking a class right now. I always have mixed feelings about these things. I want one last full week of summer. I want more time in the sun. More time without a headache from the stress of my job. I just want more freedom. I won’t lie.

Then I take a class and I want to take on the world. I love taking classes. I swear education is such a blessing. If you’re in a field that you love, it’s even better. I want his job, her job, that job, this job. I want to do this, try that, give this a shot, etc. My drive and dreams start to multiply when I’m taking a class.

This class is on data/probability so we watched this video in class. I think the reasons were twofold…I think a little for inspiration and we were also given the task of generating questions about the research this gentleman refers to. This is NOT a math video…this is a video about happiness and success. This is great, funny, and worth the 12-minutes it takes to watch it–I promise! Check it out really quickly, because I have an idea and a challenge! (Note: I link to videos a lot and suggest that you visit them, but this video is my post. Check it out!)

Not only did I laugh really hard at some parts of this video, but I had a brilliant idea! Shawn Achor suggests in this video is that we can rewire our brains to become happier people by developing the following habits for 21 days:

*Journaling about one positive experience you’ve had in the last 24 hours.

*Noting3 New Things to be grateful for

*Exercise

*Meditation

*Random Acts of Kindness

I am going to do this. And I’m going to do this with my students. I think it’s worth trying to find a few minutes for these things in class every day. I hope that I can cultivate an incredibly positive classroom. It will be difficult to find the time, it will be difficult to start this habit, it won’t be easy period.

But I do think–I have a very good feeling–that this will be so worth it. It’s worth taking the time to develop happy students, positive thinkers, and a happy classroom.

We’ll start on the first day of school, August 22nd. Please join me! If you plan to join this challenge and blog on it, please link on here right away or email me at believinginsomething at gmail dot com. I will be sure to share those links throughout those 21 days. After the 21 days I would love to hear your stories should you decide to join me.

So what do you say? Do you want to rewire your brain for more happiness?

Photo Source